Grand Concert: 5th

Event Information

Irving Hall

Harvey Bradley Dodworth
Edward Mollenhauer [viola-vn]

Price: $.50

Record Information


Last Updated:
22 February 2019

Performance Date(s) and Time(s)

07 Feb 1869, Evening

Program Details

Sanderson played a Weber grand piano.

Performers and/or Works Performed

Composer(s): Mollenhauer [viola-vn]
aka Orpheus; Orphee aux enfers; Orpheus in the Underworld
Composer(s): Offenbach
Participants:  Angus [violinist] Arnold


Advertisement: New York Herald, 07 February 1869, 11.

Includes program.

Announcement: New-York Times, 07 February 1869, 5.
Advertisement: New-York Times, 07 February 1869, 7.
Review: New York Post, 08 February 1869.

“At the orchestral concert at Irving Hall last night, the chief features were a long descriptive violin solo, composed and played by Mr. E. Mollenhauer, a curious medley of themes from Mendelssohn’s ‘Midsummer Night’s Dream’ music and Offenbach’s ‘Orpheus’ overture.  This latter was enthusiastically redemanded—the violin solo (played by Mr. Arnold) attracting special attention.  This orchestra—numbering some sixty performers—has been rehearsing together but about six weeks, yet reflects the greatest credit on its conductors, Messrs. Mollenhauer and Dodworth.  There was some good vocalization at the Irving Hall concert last night, by Mrs. Baldwin, a soprano who sings ballads most charmingly, and by Mr. Pollack, the baritone.  Miss Beimler, a contralto who took part in the programme, has a rich, full voice, with an excellent lower register, but she needs further cultivation.  Mr. Sanderson played a Weber grand, and brought out the brilliant qualities of the instrument.”